Best local SEO tools for 2026, compared by job
The best local SEO tool depends on which job you are buying: listings and citations, Google Business Profile management, reviews, map-pack rank grids, or the pages on your own website. BrightLocal, Semrush Local, Moz Local and Whitespark cover listings and grids; Localo and Semrush automate the Business Profile; AutoSEO runs the website half — local content, on-page, publishing and organic tracking — and does not touch the Profile, reviews or listings. This page maps seven tools to the six jobs, then covers agency pricing and white-label reporting and the free tools for local SEO.
This is AutoSEO's comparison and it says so. Every vendor description comes from that vendor's own public page, fetched on 2026-09-05; a price appears only where the vendor's pricing page showed a number. Where a vendor quotes on request, we say that instead of estimating.
Which local SEO tool does which job
“Local SEO software” is sold as if it were one product. It is six jobs, and most tools do two or three of them. Attribution below is what each vendor states on its own site.
| Job | Why it matters | Tools that do it |
|---|---|---|
| Listings & citations (NAP consistency) | Conflicting name, address and phone records lower Google's confidence in which business you are. | BrightLocal Citation Builder · Semrush Local Listing Management · Moz Local · Whitespark Citation Finder and Listings Service · SE Ranking Listing Management · Localo Citations Manager |
| Google Business Profile management | Categories, posts, photos and Q&A are the biggest map-pack lever and need regular activity. | Localo (audit, AI content publisher, protection) · Semrush GBP AI Agent · SE Ranking GBP Posts Scheduler · Whitespark Local Platform |
| Reviews: requests, monitoring, replies | Volume, recency and replies influence ranking and are what the searcher reads before clicking. | Whitespark Reputation Builder · Semrush Local review requests · Moz Reviews AI · Localo Review Manager · BrightLocal reputation tools · SE Ranking Reviews Management |
| Map-pack rank grids | Map rankings change street by street; a grid shows where you win and where you are invisible. | BrightLocal Local Search Grid · Whitespark Local Ranking Grids · Semrush Map Rank Tracker · Moz Local Grid · SE Ranking Map Rank Tracker · Localo position tracking |
| Local pages, service content, organic tracking | The organic results are ranked separately from the map pack; the site needs pages that genuinely serve a place. | AutoSEO (research, writing, on-page, publishing, indexing, Search Console tracking) · Localo Website Builder for GBP-based sites |
| AI-answer visibility for local queries | "Best plumber near me" is now also asked in ChatGPT and Google AI Mode; classic rank trackers cannot see those answers. | BrightLocal AI Visibility · Semrush Brand Performance · AutoSEO AI Tracker (ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, AI Overviews) · Localo (cites LLM visibility) |
The tools, one by one — what each says it does, and the price where it is public
BrightLocal
Rank tracking, listing management and reputation in one platform, plus a Local Search Grid, a Citation Builder and an AI Visibility view of how a business appears in ChatGPT and Google AI.
- Price
- Plan prices are quoted on the pricing page; citations are bought separately from $2 each with bulk credits ($3.20 single). Managed local SEO service $1,299/mo.
- Trial
- 14-day free trial, no card
- Best for
- Agencies that want tracking, listings and reviews under one login
Localo
Automates Google Business Profile work: position tracking for local keywords, an AI content publisher for GBP posts, a profile audit, review management, a citations manager, client reports and a website builder that uses GBP data.
- Price
- Single Business $49/mo ($39/mo billed annually, plus VAT); agency tier $169/mo ($149/mo annually).
- Trial
- 14 days free
- Best for
- Owners and freelancers who mainly need the Business Profile run for them
Semrush Local
Listing Management that syncs business data to 70+ US and 40+ international directories, a GBP AI Agent that posts, uploads photos and replies to reviews, SMS/email review requests, a Map Rank Tracker heatmap and a Brand Performance view of how AI assistants describe the business.
- Price
- Priced as a Semrush Local subscription; the number is on Semrush's pricing page and is not repeated here.
- Trial
- 7-day free trial
- Best for
- Multi-location brands already inside Semrush
Whitespark
Separate tools sold individually: a Local Platform for controlling Google Business Profiles, Local Ranking Grids, a Local Rank Tracker, a Local Citation Finder and a Reputation Builder, plus free review-link and ranking checkers and done-for-you listing services.
- Price
- Local Platform $1/mo per location; Ranking Grids from $10/mo; Local Rank Tracker $14–$200/mo; Citation Finder $33–$149/mo; managed SEO $499–$1,999/mo.
- Trial
- Free tools available; paid tools per plan
- Best for
- Buying one job at a time (grids, citations, GBP control) instead of a suite
Moz Local
Centralised listing and reputation management: distributes business data, monitors listing health and review alerts, and includes a Local Grid for map-pack ranking.
- Price
- Lite $20/mo ($16/mo billed yearly), Preferred $30/mo ($24 yearly), Elite $40/mo ($33 yearly); Listings AI add-on $14/mo, Reviews AI $10/mo.
- Trial
- Paid plans; check the page for current offers
- Best for
- Cheapest per-location listings management from an established vendor
SE Ranking Local Marketing
A local module inside SE Ranking: local and map (grid) rank tracking, a GBP posts scheduler, listing management and review collection with replies from one place.
- Price
- Included with SE Ranking plans; extra business locations from $18.40/mo. Base plan price is on SE Ranking's pricing page.
- Trial
- Free trial of SE Ranking
- Best for
- Teams that already track organic rankings in SE Ranking
AutoSEOUS
The website half of local SEO, run as software: service-and-city keyword research, articles and service content written to an on-page gate, titles, descriptions, schema and internal links, publishing to your CMS, Google and IndexNow submission, rank tracking from your own Search Console, AI-answer citation tracking and a live client report. It does not touch Google Business Profile, reviews or directory listings.
- Price
- $1 one-day trial, then Starter $49/mo for one site or Pro $89/mo per site; the pricing page lists every plan.
- Trial
- $1 for 1 day, 30-day money-back guarantee
- Best for
- Businesses whose Profile is already in order and whose website is the weak half
Local SEO software for agencies: per-location pricing, white-label reports, many clients
An agency buys local SEO software differently from a single business: the price has to scale by location or client, the report has to carry the agency's name, and every client has to sit under one login. The table lists what each vendor's own pages say on those three points. “Not stated” means the pages we read did not say — not that the vendor lacks it.
| Tool | Agency / per-location pricing | White-label reporting | Multi-client notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| BrightLocal | Track plan from $31/mo (tools page); citations bought per credit, $2–$3.20 each; an "Agencies & Consultants" solution track. | Yes — "White-labelling: customise all tools and reports with your branding". | Also lists an Agency Lead Generator and Google Analytics integration for client traffic reporting. |
| Localo | Pro tier for agencies and freelancers: $169/mo, or $149/mo billed annually (+VAT); the page says it is best for managing 2–10 profiles. | Yes — auto-generated white-label client reports on the Pro tier. | Dedicated account manager on that tier; one dashboard for all client profiles. |
| Semrush Local | Sold per location as a Semrush Local subscription; the number is on Semrush's pricing page and not repeated here. | Through Semrush's Pro Report add-on ($20/mo): branding and white-labeling, sharing by link, scheduled delivery. The $10/mo Base Report has no white-label. | Listing sync to 70+ US and 40+ international directories is the multi-location draw. |
| Whitespark | Local Platform $1/mo per location; Local Ranking Grids from $10/mo; Local Rank Tracker $14–$200/mo. | Not stated on the pages we read. | Offers multi-location and franchise SEO as a service alongside the tools. |
| Moz Local | $20 / $30 / $40 per location per month (Lite / Preferred / Elite); a separate contact path for more than 50 locations. | Not stated on the pages we read. | Positioned for agencies, franchises and multi-location brands: citations and review monitoring at scale. |
| SE Ranking Local Marketing | Extra business locations from $18.40/mo on top of an SE Ranking plan; Agency Pack add-on +$69/mo, annual billing only. | Yes — the Agency Pack: white label for the platform and reporting, 30 client seats, unlimited scheduled reports with AI summaries. | Local module sits inside the general SEO platform, so organic and local tracking share one login. |
| AutoSEO | Agency plan $199/mo flat for up to 5 client websites ($129/mo equivalent billed annually); Pro is per site with volume discounts. | Yes — client report links carry your brand name, logo, accent colour and a "Prepared by" footer on Agency; the same link keeps working after a downgrade, with our branding. | Website half only: research, content, on-page, publishing, indexing, Search Console and AI-answer tracking. Pair with a Profile tool for listings, reviews and GBP. |
Three questions settle the choice. Does the price scale per location or per client, and what does that do to margin at ten accounts? Does “white-label” cover the report only, or the platform your client logs into? And is the website work — location pages, service content, organic tracking — included, or left to your writers? Most Profile tools answer the first two and not the third; AutoSEO answers the third and not the first two, which is why agencies pair them. How the client report is built, field by field, is on the automated SEO reports page; the multi-client workflow is on the agencies use case.
Free tools for local SEO: what you can check without a subscription
Free local business SEO tools tell you where you stand; they do not do the work. That is still worth a lot before you buy anything: run the website side through ours, and the Profile side through the vendors' free checkers.
Ours — free, no account
- Free SEO audit
22+ on-page, technical, structured-data and answer-engine checks on any service or location page.
- SEO Score Checker
A 22-point on-page score for one URL — quick check before and after a rewrite.
- Schema Generator
LocalBusiness and FAQPage JSON-LD for a location page, ready to paste.
- Keyword Suggestions
Real Google Autocomplete phrases — type a service plus a city to see what people actually search.
- Title Tag Generator
Service-and-city titles that fit inside Google's pixel limit.
- Meta Description Generator
Descriptions under 160 characters for location and service pages.
- Core Web Vitals Checker
LCP, INP and CLS from Chrome field data — mobile speed matters most for near-me searches.
- Website Authority Checker
Domain authority from the open link graph, to compare against the sites in your map pack.
- llms.txt Generator
Publishes your best location pages for AI crawlers.
The vendors' free local SEO tools
- Whitespark : Review Checker, Google Review Link Generator, Local Ranking Checker.
- Localo : Local Rank Checker, LocalBusiness Schema Generator, Review Poster Generator, Review Response Generator.
- BrightLocal : A free local SEO tools suite, including a Local Search Results Checker; daily limits apply and paid plans raise them.
None of the free tools replaces a grid rank tracker for the map pack, and none of them writes or publishes anything. All 40 of our free tools are listed at /tools.
Automated local SEO tools: what can actually run on its own
Every vendor on this page uses the word “automate”. What that means in practice splits along the same line as the jobs table. On the Profile side, automation means scheduling posts, syncing listings, sending review requests and replying to reviews from one screen — Localo, Semrush's GBP AI Agent and SE Ranking's scheduler do this. On the website side it means researching the service-and-city keywords, writing pages to an on-page standard, publishing them to the CMS, submitting them for indexing and tracking what happened — which is what AutoSEO runs, on a schedule, and what the automated local SEO use case lists step by step. Three things no tool automates honestly: verifying the Profile, earning real reviews, and deciding what a location page should say about that place.
How we compared
- Which of the six jobs the tool actually does, in the vendor's own words — not a feature-checkbox count.
- Whether the price is public. Where a vendor quotes on request or renders prices client-side, we say so instead of guessing.
- Per-location cost, because local SEO tools are almost always priced per business location.
- Whether it produces anything on your own website, or only manages data Google and directories hold.
- Whether it can see AI answers as well as the map pack.
Vendor descriptions and prices are from each product's own public pages on 2026-09-05 and will drift. If we have described your tool inaccurately, email support@autoseo.it.com and we will correct it.
Frequently asked
What are the best local SEO tools?
There is no single best local SEO tool because "local SEO" is six different jobs. For listings and citations: BrightLocal, Moz Local, Semrush Local, Whitespark. For running the Google Business Profile: Localo, Semrush's GBP AI Agent, SE Ranking's posts scheduler, Whitespark's Local Platform. For reviews: Whitespark Reputation Builder, Semrush Local, Moz Reviews AI, Localo. For map-pack rank grids: BrightLocal, Whitespark, Semrush, Moz, SE Ranking. For the website itself — location pages, service content, organic rankings — AutoSEO. Pick the job first.
What is local SEO software?
Local SEO software is any tool that manages the signals behind map-pack and near-me rankings: your business listings across directories, your Google Business Profile, your reviews, and how you rank at different points on a map. Most local SEO software works on data held by Google and directories rather than on your website; a separate class of tools, including AutoSEO, works on the site's own pages and organic rankings.
What are the best SEO tools for a small local business?
A small business usually needs two things: its Google Business Profile kept accurate and active, and a website with real pages for the services and places it serves. The cheapest way to cover the first is a per-location tool — Moz Local from $20/mo, Whitespark's Local Platform at $1 per location, Localo from $49/mo — and the free review-link and ranking checkers Whitespark and BrightLocal publish. For the second, AutoSEO's Starter plan covers one site at $49/mo and runs the research, writing, publishing and tracking on a schedule.
What are the best free tools for a local SEO audit?
Whitespark publishes a free Review Checker, Google Review Link Generator and Local Ranking Checker; BrightLocal publishes a set of free local SEO tools on its site. For the website side, AutoSEO's free SEO audit checks any URL across 22+ on-page, technical, structured-data and answer-engine checks, and the 40 free tools include a LocalBusiness schema generator. None of the free tools replaces a grid rank tracker for the map pack itself.
What are the best tools for tracking local SEO performance?
For the map pack, use a grid tracker — BrightLocal Local Search Grid, Whitespark Local Ranking Grids, Semrush Map Rank Tracker, Moz Local Grid or SE Ranking's Map Rank Tracker — because map position varies by where the searcher stands. For the organic results and the pages on your site, track from Google Search Console: AutoSEO reads clicks, impressions and positions from your own property and adds AI-answer citation tracking, so you see both surfaces without a modelled estimate.
How do automated local SEO tools compare to a full local SEO package?
Automation covers the repeatable work: keeping listings in sync, scheduling Business Profile posts, sending review requests, tracking grids, and — on the website side — researching, writing, publishing and tracking local content. A managed package (BrightLocal quotes $1,299/mo, Whitespark $499–$1,999/mo on their pages) adds people who make the judgement calls: which categories to claim, how to respond to a suspension, what a location page should say about that place. Most small businesses automate first and buy hours only for the judgement.
How do I choose local SEO software for multiple locations?
Price it per location, because that is how the vendors bill: Whitespark's Local Platform is $1 per location per month, SE Ranking charges from $18.40/mo per extra location, Moz Local and BrightLocal scale by location count. Then check three things: whether listings sync to the directories that matter in your countries (Semrush states 70+ US and 40+ international), whether the grid tracker can run one grid per location, and whether the website side — one genuinely different page per place — is covered or left to you.
Can AI SEO tools help with local SEO?
Yes, on both halves, with limits. On the Profile side, Localo's AI content publisher and Semrush's GBP AI Agent draft posts and review replies. On the website side, AutoSEO researches service-and-city keywords, writes the pages to an on-page gate, publishes them and tracks the result. What AI cannot do honestly is verify a Business Profile, earn genuine reviews or create citations on your behalf — those stay with the business.
Does AutoSEO manage Google Business Profile, reviews or citations?
No. AutoSEO runs the website side of local SEO — research, content, on-page, publishing, indexing, rank and AI-citation tracking and reporting — and nothing else. If your Business Profile, reviews or listings are the problem, pair it with one of the listing and Profile tools on this page.
What is the best local SEO software for agencies?
Agencies buy on three things: per-location or per-client price, white-label reporting, and one login for every client. On the pages we read, BrightLocal (white-labelling of all tools and reports), Localo's Pro tier ($169/mo, auto-generated white-label reports), SE Ranking's Agency Pack (+$69/mo, white label for platform and reporting, 30 client seats) and Semrush's Pro Report add-on ($20/mo) state white-label reporting outright; Whitespark and Moz Local price per location ($1 and $20–$40 per location per month) but do not state white-label on the pages we read. For the website half, AutoSEO's Agency plan is $199/mo flat for up to 5 client sites with white-label client report links.
What is the top local SEO software?
There is no single top local SEO software, because the category is six jobs and no vendor states that it does all six. By job, the tools that keep coming up are BrightLocal, Semrush Local, Moz Local and Whitespark for listings and grids, Localo and Semrush for the Business Profile, and — for the website itself — AutoSEO. Rank the jobs by what is actually broken for your business, then pick the tool that names that job on its own page.
What is local SEO management software?
Local SEO management software is the multi-location or multi-client version of a local SEO tool: it keeps listings, Business Profiles, reviews and map rankings for many locations in one dashboard, usually priced per location, often with client reporting. BrightLocal, Semrush Local, Moz Local, SE Ranking and Localo's Pro tier are sold this way. The website side — one genuinely different page per location, kept ranking — is the part most of them leave to you, and the part AutoSEO automates.
Comparing AI SEO tools more broadly?
The best AI SEO tools 2026 comparison covers full-automation platforms, content editors, research suites and AI-visibility trackers for any site, local or not.
Run the website half on autopilot
Start your $1 trial$1 for 1 day · 30-day money-back guarantee · pricing